You are here

Pakistan Facts and Figures

Pakistan Map

The Islamic Republic of Pakistan emerged on the map of the world as an independent sovereign state on 14th August 1947, as a result of the division of the former British India. Located in South Asia, Pakistan shares an eastern border with India and a north-eastern border with China. Iran makes up the country’s south-west border, and Afghanistan runs along its western and northern edge. The Arabian Sea lies along Pakistan’s southern boundary.

The total population of Pakistan is 130.6 million (according to population census 1988). Pakistan is divided into four provinces; Sindh, Punjab, North West Frontier Province, and Balochistan. The country is comprised of a vast area that was a great center of ancient civilizations of the world. Its historical sites, beginning with stone-age to twentieth century A.D are a mirror of the life of its peoples who are by nature simple, virile, hospitable and hard working. Ancient sites excavated in Taxila, Harappa, and Mohenjodaro speak volumes about Pakistan’s rich cultural background, dating back to 3,000 B.C – with some sites such as Mehrgarh dating as far back as 8,000 BC.

More about Pakistan: